SAY SOMETHING!

We will continue to work hard to support children to understand the importance of speaking out – of finding their voice: This links to the difference between being anti something and non something. See this talk for a clearer understanding of that idea:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zs9n2v4

We need to be anti bullying/racism/sexism/prejudice. Not just ‘Non’ these things.

Mrs Lloyd reminded me of a powerful poem that drive this idea: Click this link:

Then they came for me…

 

Here is a school version:

 

First they bullied the poor kid because of his old clothes,

But I’m not poor and I had the right clothes, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied Shane because he likes to spend time with some girls.

But I don’t spend time with those girls, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied some kids because they weren’t ‘good enough’ at football.

But I’m good at football, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied Aniket, because he sounds different and has brown skin.

But I don’t sound different and I don’t have brown skin, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied the teacher because the lessons were ‘boring’

But I’m not a teacher, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied me. And no one said anything.

 

Could you create your own version, perform it and send it in to school? Find your voice!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *