Year 4, You will need these poems to help you with your English next week.

I’ve found a small dragon in my bedroom.
Think it must have come in with the washing
because it smells of fabric conditioner and clothes pegs
are still reflecting in its eyes.

I fed it on many things, tried smelly socks,
Smarties, Easter eggs and flowers,
but it stared up at me as if to say, I need
foods you could never imagine.

It made a nest among the Lego,
Rubix cubes, Squishies and Barbies,
it is so out of place here
and its silence is worrying

If you cared to share this wonder I would come
hurrying to your house with joy,
but I must think first of this helpless creature
and the trust that he places in me.

 

I’ve found a small dragon in the kitchen.
Think it must have fallen down the black chimney
because it’s fluffy with soot and orange embers
are still reflecting in its eyes.

I fed it on many things, tried liver and onions, curly chips,  scrambled eggs, the froth from a cappuccino and sunflower seeds
but it gazed up at me as if to say, I need
foods you have not heard of.

It made a nest under the sink
from scourers, brush hairs and washing up liquid bubbles,
it is lonely here
and its silence is endless.

If I could trust you I would come
hurrying to your house to let you share this wonder,
but I must wait until the time is right
for you yourself to pass this way.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *