Happy Holidays – food for thought

Dear all,

Firstly, just a big thank you to echo the end of year letter that went out – also attached.

Secondly, some powerful versions of a very famous poem created by some of the children…food for thought and something for September when we are all back together. Can’t wait!!

Here are the poems and thoughts of the children:

 

First they came for black people and their beliefs.

I saw George Floyd under the car shouting I can’t breathe,

But I did nothing because I was not black.

I saw the fire,

But I did nothing.

I saw a black man getting pulled over because of his race,

But I did nothing.

Then racists prevented protests,

But I didn’t try and stop them because I’m not like protesters.

I saw the shooting,

But I did nothing because I wasn’t protesting.

Then I saw protesters,

But I did nothing because it’s not in my country.

Then they knocked statues down,

But I did nothing because I’m not a statue.

Then no one came for me because I didn’t do anything for them.

First, they speak of equality,

But films of equal are barely in the development so I said nothing.
Then, they hurt the protestors, who were fighting for their rights,
But I’m not protesting, so I said nothing.
Next, they tore down the offensive statues,
But the people in history didn’t offend me, so I said nothing.
Then, they were denied opportunities for important jobs,
But I have a great job, so I said nothing.

Finally, they came to abuse me and no one said anything.

Then they bullied Harry, because Harry was gay.

But I’m heterosexual, so I said nothing. (Alie B)

Then they bullied Tommy, because he was very short.

But I am very tall, so I said nothing (Jack B)

Then they bullied Sophia, because she wears glasses.

But I don’t, so I said nothing.

Next they bullied Tom, because he had one leg.

But I said nothing, because I have two. (Jibran)

Next they bullied Aron because his favourite colour was pink.

But my favourite colour is black, so I said nothing (Isla)

Then they bullied Lucy, because she wears braces.

But I don’t have braces, so I said nothing. (Isabella)

And then they bullied John, because he was too wealthy.

But I’m not too rich, so I said nothing. (Rowan)

Then they bullied Henry because he read books all through lunch.

But I don’t read, so I said nothing. (Lassen)

Then they bullied Samantha, because she was in Year 7.

But I am not in year 7, so I said nothing. (Isabella)

And then they bullied my friend because he was academically gifted.

But I am not, so I said nothing and didn’t stand up for my friend. (Rowan)

Then they bullied Grace, for being dark-skinned,

But I am not, so I said nothing. (Amy B)

Then they bullied Katie because her parents would not

let her watch an non-age appropriate film.

But my mum said nothing, and let me watch the film, so I said nothing either. (Alfie)

Then they bullied my friend, for standing up to them.

But I didn’t want to stand up to them, so I said nothing. (Marshall)

First they bullied the poor kid because of his old clothes,

But I’m not poor and I had the right clothes, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied Shane because he likes to spend time with some girls.

But I don’t spend time with those girls, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied some kids because they weren’t ‘good enough’ at football.

But I’m good at football, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied Aniket, because he sounds different and has brown skin.

But I don’t sound different and I don’t have brown skin, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied the teacher because the lessons were ‘boring’

But I’m not a teacher, so I said nothing.

 

Then they bullied me. And no one said anything.

 

 

They lay the man on the floor and knelt on him, but I wasn’t in his position so I didn’t say anything,

They came first for the statues, but I don’t pay much attention to them so I said nothing,

Then the Police stopped a young black girl and sprayed her with pepper spray, but I’m not a young black girl so I said nothing,

The car with the black family in it was stopped five times this year, but I don’t drive so I didn’t say anything,

The Police came knocking at my neighbour’s door asking where their son had been this evening, but they didn’t knock on my door so I said nothing,

Whilst I was out with a group of my friends a shopkeeper refused to serve me. And no one said anything.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *